Pre-conference Course (on July 15):

"Deep Learning for Environmental Sciences"
by:  Nathaniel Newlands,
Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada,
Summerland Research and Development Centre.


The International Environmetrics Society (TIES) is a non-profit organization, founded in 1989 with the purpose of promoting the development and use of quantitative models and methods in solving environmental problems by scientists such as statisticians, mathematicians, engineers and computer scientists.

To this end the Society promotes the production of publications (Environmetrics Journal) and holds annual congresses.

TIES annual congresses are a key element in achieving the objectives of the organization, as they seek

  1. Highlighting and expanding existing methods in statistics, mathematics and computing
    for the advancement of environmental studies.
  2. Identifying the important needs and directions for future research.
  3. Encouraging the participation, interaction and multidisciplinary collaboration of scientists in relation to environmental problems.

The various places where the TIES congress has been held, represent the international character of the Society and the diversity environmental problems it addresses. For example, some of the previous congresses have been

1989, Cairo, Egypt
1992, Espoo, Finland
1995, Bangi, Malaysia
1996, Sao Paulo, Brazil
1997, Innsbruk, Austria
1998, Gold Coast, Australia
1999, Athens, Greece
2003, Johannesburg, South Africa
2005, Beijing, China
2006, Kalmar, Sweden
2010, Isla Margarita, Venezuela
2013, Anchorage, Alaska, USA
2014, Guangzhou, China
2015, Al Ain, United Arab Emirates
2016, Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2017, Bergamo, Italy

The TIES congresses are well established and have involved many of the most eminent researchers working in the area. This 28th installment is taking place for the first time in Mexico and we expect it to be as successful as it predecessors.


Scientific Committee

Liliane Bel, France
Edward L. Boone, USA
Lelys Bravo, Venezuela
Alex Brenning, Germany
Singdhansu Chatterjee, USA
Daniela Cocchi, Italy
Abdel El Shaarawi, Canada/Egypt
Sylvia Esterby, Canada
Carolina Euan, Saudi Arabia
Alessandro Fasso, Italy
Yulia R. Gel, USA (Chair)
Eduardo Gutierrez-Peña, Mexico
Murali Haran, USA
Amanda Hering, USA
Gabriel Huerta, USA
Ilian Iliev, USA
Krishna Jandhyala, USA
Petra Kuhnert, Australia
Robert Lund, USA
Slava Lyubchich, USA
Jorge Mateu, Spain
Wendy Meiring, USA
Claire Miller, UK
Nathaniel Newlands, Canada
Nikunj Oza, USA
Emilio Porcu, UK
L. Leticia Ramirez-Ramirez, Mexico
Eliane Rodrigues, Mexico
Bruno Sansò, USA
Gavin Shaddick, UK
Katia Smirnova, USA
Song Xi,USA/China
Hao Zhang, USA



Local Committee

L. Leticia Ramírez-Ramírez, chair, CIMAT
Andrés Christen-Gracia, CIMAT
Rogelio Ramos Quiroga, CIMAT
Eliane R. Rodrígues, IMATE-UNAM
Inder R. Tecuapelta-Gómez, CONACyT-CONABIO
Belem Trejo-Valdivia, INP
Victor De Oliveira,  UTSA